Champions crowned at 2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo

Follow us

Champions crowned at 2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo

Champions crowned at 2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo

KISSIMMEE, Fla. (April 10, 2016) – The 2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo (RNCFR) started four days ago with 24 contestants in each of the standard rodeo events.

They qualified to be in Kissimmee, Fla. by competing at rodeos within a geographical region that makes up one of 12 circuits in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) and Women’s Professional Rodeo Association (WPRA). The champions and year-end winners from those circuits qualified for the RNCFR.

There were 24 contestants in bareback riding, steer wrestling, team roping (heading and heeling), saddle bronc riding, tie-down roping, women’s barrel racing and bull riding. They competed twice in hopes of being among the eight that advanced to Sunday’s semifinals. Then the top four from the semifinals competed in one final round that determined the champions.

In the bareback riding it was three-time RNCFR qualifier Tim O’Connell from Zwingle, Iowa, who won the championship for the Great Lakes Circuit. O’Connell’s success in the final round came aboard a horse from South Dakota, Korkow Rodeo’s Feather Fluffer. An 84-point effort gave the former collegiate champion the win and earned him $7,493. Combined with his previous earnings, he left the Silver Spurs Arena at Osceola Heritage Park with $24,915.

Steer wrestling was all Montana as Dillon resident Josh Boka stopped the clock in 4.5 seconds to win the title. He claimed the first of two championships for the Montana Circuit. Boka earned a total of $15,736.

The team roping champions were the high-money earners of the individual champions at this year’s RNCFR.  Jake Orman from Prairie, Miss., and Tyler Domingue from De Kalb, Texas, each earned a total of $26,601 through the four rounds of competition. With Orman doing the heading and Domingue heeling, they stopped the clock in 4.4 seconds in the final round to win the title for the Texas Circuit.

The second generation of the professional saddle bronc riding Wright family struck pay dirt when Rusty Wright beat the rest of the field in the final round. He rode Smith Pro Rodeo’s horse named Goin’ South for 85.5 points to beat current world champion Jacobs Crawley from Boerne, Texas, who had an 84. Wright earned $21,168.

Clint Kindred from Oral, S.D., won the tie=down roping after stopping the clock in 7.9 seconds in the finals. He was the only champion from the Badlands Circuit and took $18,733 home.

Ivy Conrado rode her seven-year-old mare that she calls Tibbie for the WPRA title. Conrado, from Hudson, Colo., stopped the clock in 15.47 seconds in the finals for the win. That was the fastest time in the barrel racing of the whole rodeo for the Mountain States Circuit cowgirl. Conrado headed north with $20,232.

Another Montanan emerged as the bull riding champion after an outstanding 87.5-point effort on an Oklahoma bull. Parker Breding from Edgar was the lone rider to be successful in the final round. He rode Rafter H Rodeo’s Road Hammer. The Montana Circuit got their second title of the day and Breding got $23,791 for the win.

The all-around cowboy is the only defending champion from last year that was victorious again. Josh Peek from Pueblo, Colo., had an outstanding rodeo, winning $30,160 in the tie-down roping and steer wrestling. Points were added up from contestants in each of the circuits with the Texas Circuit finishing at the top.

Contestants here represented 33 states and are now either headed home or to the next rodeo with hopes of qualifying for the 2017 RNCFR.


Josh Peek - RNCFR Champions crowned at 2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo

2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Champions:

Bareback Riding – Tim O’Connell, Zwingle, Iowa, Great Lakes Circuit – $24,915

Steer Wrestling – Josh Boka, Dillon, Mont., Montana Circuit – $15,736

Team Roping Header – Jake Orman, Prairie, Miss., Texas Circuit – $26,601

Team Roping Heeler – Tyler Domingue, De Kalb, Texas, Texas Circuit – $26,601

Saddle Bronc Riding – Rusty Wright, Milford, Utah, Wilderness Circuit – $21,168

Tie-Down Roping – Clint Kindred, Oral, S.D., Badlands Circuit – $18,733

Women’s Barrel Racing – Ivy Conrado, Hudson, Colo., Mountain States Circuit – $20,232

Bull Riding – Parker Breding, Edgar, Montana, Montana Circuit – $23,791

All-Around Cowboy – Josh Peek, Pueblo, Colo., Mountain States Circuit – $30,160

Champion Circuit – Texas Circuit

The following are unofficial results of the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo at Silver Spurs Arena, April 10, 2016.

Bareback riding: semi-finals 1, Frank Morton, Wright, Kan., Prairie Circuit, 85 points on Pete Carr’s Pro Rodeo’s YoYo, $7, 493. 2, (tie) Chase Erickson, Helena, Mont., Montana Circuit, and Evan Jayne, Marseille, France, Texas Circuit, 80, $4,683 each. 4, (tie) Tanner Aus, Granite Falls, Minn., Great Lakes Circuit, and Tim O’Connell, Zwingle, Iowa, Great Lakes, 77, $937 each. Finals 1, O’Connell, 84 points on Painted Pony Championship Pro Rodeo’s Universal Mamma Don’t No, $7,493. 2, Jayne, 80, $5,620. 3, Morton, 77, $3,747. 4, Erickson, 74, $1,873.

Steer wrestling: semi-finals 1, Sterling Lambert, Fallon, Nev., California Circuit, 4.0 seconds, $7,493.  2, Josh Peek, Pueblo, Colo., Mountain States Circuit, 4.3, $5,620. 3, Josh Boka, Dillon, Mont., Montana Circuit, 4.2, $3,747. 4, Kyle Whitaker, Chambers, Neb., Great Lakes Circuit, 4.8, $1,873. Finals 1, Boka, 4.5 seconds, $7,493. 2, Whitaker, 4.6, $5,620. 3, Peek, 5.1, $3,747. 4, Lambert, 5.2, $1,873.

Team roping: semi-finals 1, Jake Orman, Prairie, Miss., and Tyler Domingue, De Kalb, Texas, Texas Circuit, 6.5 seconds, $7,493. 2, Shawn Bessette, Great Falls, Mont., and Sid Sporer, Cody, Wyo., Montana Circuit, 7.3, $5,620. 3, Billy Bob Brown, Carbon, Texas, and Garrett Jess, Coulee City, Wash., Columbia River Circuit, 7.4, $3,747. 4, Coleman Proctor, Pryor, Okla., and Jake Long, Coffeyville, Kan., Prairie Circuit, 11.3, $1,873. Finals (three times) 1, Orman and Domingue, 4.4 seconds, $7,493 each. 2, Proctor & Long, 5.0, $5,620 each. 3, Bessette and Sporer, 5.8, $3,747 each.

Saddle bronc riding: semi-finals 1, Rusty Wright, Milford, Utah, Wilderness Circuit, 84 points on Rafter H Rodeo’s Spade, $7,493. 2, Jesse Kirby, Dodge City, Kan., Prairie Circuit, 83, $5,620. 3, Jacobs Crawley, Boerne, Texas, Texas Circuit, 80.5, $3,747. 4, Sam Spreadborough, 79.5, $1,873. Finals (three rides) 1, Wright, 85.5 on Stace Smith Pro Rodeo’s Goin’ South, $7,493. 2, Crawley, 84, $5,620. 3, Spreadborough, 79.5, $3,747.

Tie-down roping: semi-finals 1, Cole Bailey, Okmulgee, Okla., Prairie Circuit, 7.8 seconds, $7,493. 2, Taylor Santos, Creston, Calif., Columbia River Circuit, 8.2, $5,620. 3, Clint Kindred, Oral, S.D., Badlands Circuit, 8.4, $3,747. 4, Blake Hirdes, Turlock, Calif., California Circuit, $1,873. Finals (three times) 1, Kindred, 7.9, $7,493. 2, Hirdes, 8.3, $5,620. 3, Santos, 9.9, $3,747.

Barrel racing: semi-finals 1, Callahan Crossley, Hermiston, Ore., Columbia River Circuit, 15.81 seconds, $7,493. 2, Pamela Capper, Cheney, Wash., Columbia River, $5,620. 3, Ivy Conrado, Hudson, Colo., 16.02, $3,747. 4, Sarah Kieckhefer, Prescott, Ariz., Turquoise Circuit, 16.06, $1,873. Finals 1, Conrado, 15.47, $7,493. 2, Crossley, 15.76, $5,620. 3, Kieckhefer, 15.90, $3,747. 4, Pamela Capper, 16.07, $1,873.

Bull riding: semi-finals (no qualified rides) Finals (one ride) 1, Parker Breding, Edgar, Mont., Montana Circuit, 87.5 points on Rafter H Rodeo’s Road Hammer, $7,493.

3 Champions crowned at 2016 RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo